IWSA General Assembly Meeting

Old San Francisco Steakhouse

Gold Room

10223 Sahara Drive, San Antonio TX

November 20, 2018    



The meeting was called to order President Lucy Martinez at: 12:00 pm.


Chaplain – Cheryl Ramirez gave the invocation


1st Vice President – Sue Finke announced the November Birthdays and gifts were sponsored by Lisa Bumpas with The Gerloff Company. There were no guests.


President Elect – Lucy reported on Kamie’s behalf. We had 13 people signed up for the CE class in November.   10 attendees and 7 of them were non-members. This gave a great opportunity to talk about IWSA and some of the benefits of being a member. Kamie is finalizing a CE class for January, details to follow. Lucy explained the IWSA 75th Birthday Game and provide details. There were flyers on the table listing the Past President names and instructions on the game as well.

President - Lucy Martinez stated the October General Assembly minutes were posted on the IWSA website. There were no corrections and the minutes will be filed as posted.


The October Treasurer’s report was read at the November Board meeting and has been filed subject to audit.  


2nd Vice President/Finance- Ana Tomes discussed the Fall Fundraiser.  Ana encouraged everyone to donate wine or liquor for the liquor wagon. For every bottle donated, members will receive a raffle ticket and a chance to win a prize. The liquor wagon will be given away at the IWSA Christmas Party on December 14th at the Hilton Airport.  Monetary donations accepted also. Ana reported that due to some issues, the Golf Tournament will now be held at TPC. The date has changed and will be announced soon.


Community Service- Julia Elizondo announced that we will be collecting coats for the 5th graders at Woodrow Wilson Elementary school.  She will send a list of the sizes out to our members.  Bring coats to the December luncheon and they will be delivered to the school the following week.  .   


Convention AdvisorSusie Hollingsworth read her report from the FIWT Convention held on October 18-21, 2018 in San Marcos.


Parliamentarian – Jean Schriever announced we were in order.


Past President – April Massey showed a video “How to make Stress your friend”.  After the video, small groups engaged in discussion referencing the video.


Unfinished BusinessNone 


New Business- None


Community Service Raffle- Community Service Raffle proceeds of $90 will go toward Community Service Funds. Raffle prizes were sponsored by: Enterprise Rent A Car. 


Door Prizes- Lucy thanked all the door prize sponsors: Myrtha Castillo with Accident Fund and The Gerloff Company.   


Don’t forget to register for the December luncheon, Friday December 14th.

Hearing nothing further, the meeting is adjourned by Lucy Martinez at 12:59 pm



Respectfully submitted,
Kenna Rickett
IWSA Recording Secretary 2017/2018


Click Here for Printable Version